Still Not Settled

Although I have officially unpacked everything (except for that box that needs be taken to the basement but I’m getting to it, I promise), I don’t feel settled in Chicago yet.  I have figured out how to get to the theater and back home safely – I’ve even gone out on my own navigated some other neighborhoods, but the city doesn’t feel like it’s mine yet.  My neighborhood doesn’t even feel like my own yet.  Actually, I’m still not sure my apartment feels like mine.

My teeny, tiny Chicago room has been completely decorated with all things that shout me!  Me on my bookshelves, me on the walls, and me in that pile of dirty laundry on the floor that I was going to do today but didn’t seem to find the time.  Past my bedroom door is a different land…the land of boys.  My roommates are great and friendly, but I’m still not sure how I fit into this microcosm of Chicago called ‘our place’.

I’m just not used to living with other people.  I haven’t had a roommate who wasn’t a family member in four years, and even that family member couldn’t stand to live with me for longer than the 1 year lease.  I’m walking on egg shells a bit.  My version of walking on eggshells is apparently spending all my time in my room and discovering old television shows on Netflix.  (Have you seen Friday Night Lights?  GREAT show.  I’m all for an hour long drama driven by teenagers and hot/tortured boys like Tim Riggins trying to figure out their place in this world and on his Texas football team.  But is completing a whole season in three days a little sad?)

I know it’s probably just because I’m not very busy.  And I’m definitely not making any money yet.  I’ve made phone calls and sent emails – I even have people at the theater looking out for me – but nothing yet.  I’ll admit I’ve got a few things ‘in the works’ but I’m a completely impatient person and I’m starting to panic at the rate at which the total balance of my checking account is changing.  Of course, usually when stuff like this happens, my reaction is to shut down and lose myself in some t.v., movie, book, etc. (see above paragraph).

I don’t even have a favorite restaurant yet.  Back home, there were a few places where my best friend and I would love to go.  The food was a comfort (notice I said comfort, not necessarily good), we had our favorite booths picked out, and most of the wait staff already knew that I wanted a big Diet Coke to drink.  Of course the very best part was talking to my friend and learning every detail of what happened to you that day.

Ok, I feel myself moments away from turning some sappy, feel-sorry-myself mood so I must pick myself up and try to move on.  Maybe going to the grocery store will help (I already know where one is) and maybe even doing this big pile of laundry (have I mentioned my laundry room yet?  I need to remember to do that).  Then, with food bought and laundry cleaned maybe I’ll reward myself with Season 2.

https://i2.wp.com/www.bolumrehberi.com/images/tv-show/Friday-Night-Lights/friday_night_lights_wallpaper_1280x1024_21.jpg

Can you see the small town, teenage angst beaming from their eyes straight to your soul?

My favorite Riggins look….sweaty hair after practice.

Are you grossed out by his hair are totally turned on?

You can’t decide!!!!

You’re Welcome.

Leave a Reply

