NOT HOMESICK….JUST REGULAR SICK

Some people when faced with an illness refuse to let it beat them.  They will power on, refuse to take even an aspirin, and go about their business.  They are the people who you force to leave the office because you realize they are running a fever, even when they insist they are fine!  Let me say, I am not one of these people.  If I feel the slightest tickle in my throat or just a minor pain in my head, I’m ready to completely abandon the world and lock myself in my room until the plague passes.

Maybe I’m not quite that dramatic, but I have felt pretty crappy the past couple of days.  Now that winter has started to appear, I came down with a major cold to accompany the changing of the seasons.  I left work early on Tuesday and have been out of commission ever since.

Being sick in a new city really is the worst.  What makes it even worse: I had almost no groceries to speak of.  So, I’m alone in my bed hacking and coughing, I don’t want to go to the doctor because I don’t have health insurance, and there is nothing for me to eat.  I had no soup which is what I really wanted, and I had no one to call who would fetch soup for me.  These are the thoughts that will send a person into a downward spiral of self-pity *cough, cough*.

In Mississippi, I had plenty of people I could call.  Both my sisters lived in town, although if I’m being honest they probably would have blown me off to do something they felt was far more important.  If I couldn’t get my sisters, I would call my friend John but he was a very busy person.  Then, I would have called my mom.  Yes, that’s right, I would’ve called my mom.  And she would’ve brought me soup.  This thought occurred to me yesterday around 6 p.m.  And then, I thought “Kate, you are 27 years old!  Go and get your own damn soup!”

So, I got out of bed, put on a hoodie to hide my dirty hair, and walked (the whole one block) to the small, neighborhood grocery.  And guess what?  They didn’t even have the kind of soup I like!!  Maybe I’m a little picky when it comes to soup (and by picky I mean I will only eat chicken noodle).  I was very sad and decided to go with hummus, bananas, and Diet Coke.  When I got to the cash register, the nice cashier offered me some candy since it was Halloween.  I politely declined and he responded, “Oh wow, you don’t sound so good.”

“Thanks guy!  I know, I sound like a frog and by the way, where’s the chicken noodle soup?  My throat hurts and what do I want?  Chicken noodle soup!  But you don’t have it.  What’s up with that?  Yes, I’m sick.  Do we need to bring more attention to it!”

But, I didn’t say that, I just smiled and said “I guess it isn’t a Happy Halloween for me,” and picked up my hummus.  As I was leaving, he told me to feel better which made me feel like a total tool for having an imaginary freak out over the soup.

But, the happy ending is this: I’m starting to feel better.  So with only the aid of NyQuil, I made it through my first ‘illness’ in Chicago.  I nursed myself back to health!  I am an independent woman (who subsequently is completely caught up with all my favorite t.v. shows and recently completely over half a season of The Office.)

Leave a Reply

