New Year, New City, New Resolutions

Happy New Year!

What’s so great about the new year?  As a person who has always worked in the schools, I never understood the big celebration of the beginning of a new year.  My job is the same, and when I return to school, my students will be the same, too.   My friends are the same, my family is the same….I’m the same!  So, I never really understood the excitement people feel on December 31st.  Or are they just looking for an excuse for a good party?

I’ve also never been big on resolutions.  I might haphazardly make one in order to have some small talk at the big New Years’ Eve bash, but I don’t think I’ve ever kept one before.

However, I am trying to change my ‘bah hum bug’ attitude about this new year in particular.  I am in a new place after all (today officially marks being a Chicago resident for 4 months), so maybe making some positive changes are in order.

Resolution #1: I will quit smoking (again).

I am a smoker.  I hate to admit it.  I have had very successful stints as a non-smoker only to return to the dark side after weeks or months or (one time) a whole year!  I love smoking, but I hate smoking.  Smoking is something I cling to when things are not going quite as I had planned.

I can still remember my mom driving away from campus after dropping me off for my freshman year of college.  And what did I do?  I went and bought a pack of cigarettes.  I needed a friend, and nicotine seemed to be my chosen substitute.  Plus, in college everybody smoked (it seemed) so what’s the big deal?

I tried to quit smoking a handful of times (once during finals – mistake!).  I told myself I would quit after college, but you know what happens after college?  The real world.  I couldn’t quit smoking during the first year of my first job – too stressful.  My friends would tell me it’s gross/we want you to be healthy and –  as a rational person-  I know all these things to be true.  But temptation was too much sometimes.

But this time is for real.  I don’t need the comfort of my cigarettes.  If I can move and start a new job in a new city, I should be able to handle giving up the cigarettes….right?

Resolution #2: Write more.

This is pretty self-explanatory.  But in particular, I want to challenge myself to write a play.  I have been saying that I was going to do it for a while now, but somehow it always gets pushed to the bottom of my list of priorities.  And I’ve finally figured it out.  It’s not because I’m just too busy – it’s because I’m afraid.

For some reason, putting words on a page and then saying, “Hey, that’s mine.  I did that.  Those are my ideas,” is one of the scariest things I can think of…..but not anymore!  This is the year.  This year I will write a play…..AND since I’m being particularly bold, I will let a few people read that play!  How’s that for ambition?

That’s it!  Just the two resolutions.  I feel that’s a good place to start for someone who isn’t generally excited about a new year in general.  So come on 2013!  Let’s do this.

 

One response

  1. Hi, Kate! A week or so ago, I stumbled upon your blog – probably thru some facebook connection. I’m old and can’t remember. Anyway, I kept it ‘open’ in my Safari window and have just read all your entries. I started in the middle with the Gilbert story. You should definitely continue to blog and start your play (maybe about Gilbert). You’re good and funny and not laborious to read!
    Good luck with the teaching and the drama work (no personal drama, please)!
    Peg (Emily’s, and now Joe’s mom)
    PS. because I had left your blog link open for so long and couldn’t remember why I even had it, it took me several readings to finally realize who you were! Pretty good detective work, huh?

Leave a Reply

