Sorry I Missed Our Anniversary

Happy Anniversary, Chicago!  We’ve been together for six months.  Technically, our anniversary was on March 1, but I was unable to properly celebrate (and by celebrate I mean write a love letter to Chicago).

My Dearest Chicago,

I think this is the beginning of something beautiful.  These six months have really flown by faster than I could imagine, and I’m so thankful that I found you.  You really know how to make a girl feel like a real live Mary Tyler Moore, living on my own and conquering the big city.  I guess what I’m trying to say is thank you for not chewing me up and spitting me out….yet.

Sure, you’re not perfect, but who is?  You snow too much, you cost too much, there’s too much traffic, and frankly, you make my mom worry.  It’s not your fault that she worries – she would worry even if you were Nashville or Louisville or New York (especially New York) – so don’t take it personally.  Give her more time, and she’ll come around.

But since it’s our anniversary, we should focus on the good things… the fun times we’ve had.  I can’t believe how much you’ve taught me in such a short amount of time.  I know how to drive in the snow, take the train to work, and order delivery Thai food – and it’s all because of you!  And parallel parking!  How could I forget parallel parking?  If not for you, I would never have developed my keen parking skills.  And there’s still so much more I have to learn.

There’s no good way to say it, but I love you, Chicago.  I really do.  It’s not always easy, but I think you’re worth it.  Worth being far from home and worth spending my savings to find you.  Thanks for the plays I’ve seen and the friends I’ve made.  Thanks for making me feel a little more like a grown up.  Basically, thanks for changing my life.  Here’s to another wonderful six months together.

Your favorite Mississippi lady,

Kate

One response

Leave a Reply

