Careers in Your Twenties … Do those really exist?

20-something.  As a 12 year old, most of us imagine that life in your twenties is nothing but staying up late, driving a car, and doing whatever you want.  People in their twenties were old, but they definitely had everything figured out.  If there’s one thing I am sure of now, in my *gulp* late twenties, it is that I do not have everything figured out.  Far from it – I’m lucky if I do laundry before I run out of clean underwear.  

I think one of my biggest realizations has been the direction my career has taken….or maybe I should say lack of career.  As children we think we’ll choose a job, have a family, and live happily ever after.  We never imagine working at a string of different restaurants even if it means no benefits because there are student loans to pay.  But that’s the state of our economy today.  Jobs are scarce, so you take what you can.  If you are very lucky, maybe you are doing something you really enjoy.

So, I recently discovered this blog all about being in your twenties today.  I wrote about my experience, and they posted it!  You should check it out.  The site has lots of folks going through the same thing: how to start a career, how to find a job, how to do something worthwhile.  The best part?  There’s lots of other people in their 20’s and some are just as clueless as I am.  (Whew!)  

Leave a Reply

