Please, take me back home to Mississippi!

Tomorrow, I leave for an extended Memorial Day Weekend getaway.  I’m going home for a few days which I realize doesn’t sound very exciting, but I haven’t been home since Christmas.  I’ve gotten proportionately more pumped as my travel day has gotten closer.  I’ve called my mom/sister what seems like every hour just to remind them that I’m coming home.  They will probably be sick of me before I even arrive.  Needless to say, the excitement of my trip has made it quite difficult to give a damn about anything going on here in Chicago.

A few examples:

1.  Yesterday, I thought it might be a good idea to skip my morning shower (it was not).  Since I am classy, I did wash my bangs to get rid of the greasy/creased mess that wouldn’t fit in my ponytail.  Clean bangs does not offset the effects of not showering!  However, I just didn’t care, because I was leaving in just two short days.

2. I have gotten fast food for almost every meal in the past three days.  I was basically out of groceries and didn’t feel like shopping before I left town.  Gross?  Yes.  Do I care?  Nope.  (I also had another incident with a giant Diet Coke from Subway.  Basically, I squeezed it too hard and soda spewed all over me like a fountain…on the day I skipped a shower.  Still – not caring)

3.  I just found out I have to present my principal with certain data from my students Drama assessments.  Somehow, I didn’t realize exactly what form this information was supposed to presented in.  But am I stressed?  Nope.  Just something I’ll figure out next Monday when I’m back in town.

4.  I noticed that my throat was a little scratchy and my glands might be a little swollen.  Usually, I pay attention to this kind of stuff, but I’m just bee-bopping along.  Even a little cold/allergy flare up will not bring me down.

5.  Even an empty Hulu queue couldn’t diminish my mood last night!  Bring it on Mississippi.  (Now, if only I was packed!)

Leave a Reply

