For My Next Trick…

I’ve been busy, busy, busy!  Lots of people are busy – I know this to be true.  And I promise I am not claiming to be the busiest person out there, not by a long shot.  And I’m not complaining, some exciting new things are happening for me.

The exciting news: I got a new job!!  This job is fantastic and absolutely perfect for me.  I’m working at a children’s theatre in their Education department.  This job is basically everything I’ve been looking for since moving to Chicago.  And I’ll still have opportunities to teach!!

The complication: the job is only part-time (for now).  And since not-for-profit theatres are not known for an abundance of funding, my new pay is not going to equal what I’m getting paid to teach part-time at the elementary school.

My solution: I worked it out so that I could start working for the theatre and still work for the school until Christmas break.  This way for a short time I’ll be earning both incomes.  Not to mention I can still baby-sit to make a little extra cash.

Oh, and by the way: before I got the new job, I was hired to direct a children’s show in the burbs.  Rehearsals start in two weeks and go until February.  It’s great since it’s more extra money – but not the best timing in the world.

So, in case you are keeping count, here’s what the past month has looked like: teach elementary school drama part-time, learn a new (dream) job part-time, go to a baby-sitting job, work the occasional box office shift on the weekends, spend time fretting over money, watch multiple episodes of Scandal to distract from money worries, try to keep my fridge stocked, go to another baby-sitting job, determine how long I can put off laundry by the amount of clean underwear in my drawer, try to beat level 197 in Candy Crush, have auditions for children’s show, call my mom and assure her I’m still alive and well, make plans to see a friend, read Divergent and Insurgent, cursed myself for staying up too late to read Young Adult fiction, regret plans with the friend because I’m exhausted, go to one more baby-sitting job, and thank my friend for making me go out even though I’m ready to sleep by 11 o’clock.

Maybe you don’t think that sounds like too much.  Or maybe you are judging me for having priorities like watching Scandal and playing Candy Crush (it’s all about a balanced life, people).  Maybe I’m just whining because my natural state is one of complete laziness.  Whatever the case, this past month has turned me to be a master juggler.  I have a variety of different items moving swiftly through the air, never falling or colliding.  The epitome of time management.  I even made a visual aid. (Thank you clip art)

Image

But not too busy to make this image in Paint!

If I’m being honest, I’m not able to manage everything.  I’ve certainly let a few things slide.  I occasionally choose to sleep 30 extra minutes instead of showering, and the dishes in my kitchen are one chemical reaction from becoming bio-hazardous waste.  But for the most part, I’ve managed to get all the most important stuff done….I think.  Wait, am I forgetting something?  Let me check the calendar….

When I think back to a year and a half ago, my life looked nothing like this.  I’m not saying I didn’t get busy, I did.  But it was certainly a different kind of busy.  I taught during the day, and sometimes I had rehearsals at night.  Most weekends I had some time to chill – maybe at home watching reality television or at the bar with some friends.  And that was it!!  It’s hard to remember what that life was like.

The variety of things I have going on at any given time is overwhelming.  And the thing is, most of my friends have day-planners that are more filled than mine.  Day jobs, side projects, nighttime rehearsals, theatre companies – the list goes on and on.  If I want to hang out with someone, it takes lots of planning in advance.  Calendars have to be checked; dates have to be confirmed.

Something I miss:

Imagine it’s a Saturday night in my hometown.  I check the local movie times (for the only movie theatre in town) and see something I really want to see.  But the movie starts in 30 minutes.  I text a friend, and we agree to go to the film (because they aren’t busy either).  I put on pants (because odds are if it’s Saturday, I have not left the house yet).  I hop in my car and make it to the Malco in 9-11 minutes.  (I was planning on making it in 7 minutes, but the movie theater is ALL the way across town and I encounter three red lights on the way!)  I buy my ticket and see my buddy in the lobby.  We buy drinks and popcorn (or nachos if I’m feeling particularly festive) and walk into our theater.  We will not miss a single preview – we probably have to sit and watch some of those annoying commercials for at least 5 minutes before the real previews start.  Spontaneous weekend activity.  It was a simpler time.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Grumpy Bear Gets it Right | Leaving the Land of Cotton

Leave a Reply

